Resolving to Travel

My New Year’s resolutions tend to fall by the wayside quickly.  Usually by January 2nd.  So, can a resolution be something you are going to do anyway? We travel a lot and it’s fun trying to narrow down the options of where we want to go.  So, I’m resolving to set out some of our travel plans.  I think of it as a win/win.

world travel

Here are some places that have caught my fancy and I’m lining up the options for Mr. N and me to discuss.

Val d’Isere, France

We’ve been skiing at Val d’Isere with friends the last 2 years.  We liked it so much we are going again!  Skiing can be a bit of a hassle with young children so we are sticking with the tried and tested.

val d'isere

Normandy, France

We are planning on going this year to Normandy for the 70th anniversary of D-Day and the Battle of Normandy.   The commemoration will occur from June through August with a series of fireworks, parades etc.  This event may also be the last major anniversary attended by soldiers who were present for the actual battle.

d-day anniversary kiss
photo: http://www.the70-thenormandy.com

Martha’s Vineyard, Massachusetts, USA

We also spend time at our summer house in the USA when we are not renting it out.  Summer wouldn’t be the same for our children until they get their fix of this idyllic island.

vineyard sign

Bucks County, Pennsylvania, USA

No doubt, we’ll spend time with our friends and family up and down the East Coast of the USA.  My parents have retired to a particularly beautiful part of Pennsylvania which is only over the border from Southern New Jersey. I love the rolling farmland and national parks a fairly short drive away (for the USA).  For example, on Christmas Day we went to Washington Crossing Historic Park.  They had a re-enactment of George Washington’s famous crossing of the Delaware River on Christmas Day 1776 which I will write about later.

washington crossing

The Outer Banks, North Carolina, USA

One trip we are planning is renting a house with friends in the Outer Banks, a series of barrier islands of the coast of North Carolina.  We will definitely visit the Wright Brothers National Memorial and my airplane-mad son will be delighted.  On a remote sandbar in North Carolina, history was made when an aircraft made its first flight in 1903.  Populated with wild horses, scenic drives, beautiful beaches, the Outer Banks are a very popular American tourist destination.

mustangs

OK, that’s as far as I have gotten.  I’m going to wait to spring my wish to go to Egypt on Mr. N at a later date.  I’ve wanted to go for ages and the children have now studied Ancient Egypt at school. I think they would love to see for themselves all the cool things about which they have learned.  Mr. N is understandably worried about the safety issues of travelling there at this time.

So, what are your travel plans for this year?  Have you thought that far ahead?

I’m linking up with Emma at Adventures of a London Kiwi for her 2014 travel linkup.

Published by

Shobha

I am an American expat based in London with my travel-loving family. I write at Just Go Places Blog about luxury, cultural and family travel.

15 thoughts on “Resolving to Travel”

  1. You’ve got some wonderful plans – I have to admire the skiing though – you’ll never get me on them!
    Your US trips looks wonderful!

    1. I find it shocking that time has passed so quickly and that this celebration may be the last one with people who were actually there. For my children, the world wars will be as remote as the American Civil War or the 100 Years War.

  2. Oh wow, your travel plans have really inspired my imagination. I’ve only been to the USA once to New York City and DC but I love your ideas of summer houses and lakes. It really is such a diverse, beautiful country. We’re planning a trip to Normandy too in April – what a pity it’s not a little bit later!

    1. We are in April too! It’s the Transatlantic Council camporee of the Boy Scouts at Omaha Beach. For your sake I hope it’s not end of April or you’ll be running into thousands of boy scouts. Our entire troop is going!

  3. I have always wanted to go to Egypt since studying it at school, but the conflicts have put us off going as well. We have just started to learn to ski so would love a ski trip! Maybe I’ll add that to my travel plans too 🙂

    1. I’ve got to admit, skiing isn’t my first choice of holiday. A little too athletic for me. But the family loves it and I drag them around to enough to enough museums and design stores on other vacations. So it’s only fair play.

  4. Your resolutions last until the 2nd of January?… that’s one day longer than mine!
    I didn’t realise it was the 70th anniversary of D Day this year. I imagine it would be quite a unique and moving experience, and look forwards to reading any blogs you post about it.

  5. Your American adventures look amazing! Last year was the first time I really explored the USA and I was completely blown away by it all – I did come home two weeks later, a dress size bigger! Thank goodness that feet don’t really gain weight! Things have settled down in Egypt which is great & you can get some pretty darn good luxury holidays really cheap at the moment plus there are less tourists; book it! I can’t wait to see your posts in the future xx

Got something to say?

