snowstorm in pennsylvania

The Travel Year That Was – 2014

I thought I’d do a quick recap of our travels in 2014.  We consider ourselves part-time travellers because travel is our hobby and our passion.  My husband has a (very) full-time job and gets six weeks annual leave.  Believe it or not, he doesn’t even take his full six weeks every year, and occasionally he even works on vacation.  The children are in full-time education. We don’t take them out of school if it’s not vacation time.  Luckily, they seem to have a lot of holiday time.

This list is what we got up to in 2014:

We returned to the USA three times last year to visit friends and family.  My parents are not well enough to travel and so we always visit them.  Aging parents in your home country are one of the big downsides with living an expat life.  Fortunately, I was able to flee the USA in January before the polar vortex did its worst because I am no longer comfortable driving in heavy snow.

snowstorm in pennsylvania

Although we travelled a lot, we only did 2 trips that was just our immediate family and was purely a vacation.  Both trips (the one through Wyoming and South Dakota and one to South Africa) were absolutely amazing and created some of our favourite memories.

My husband and I were able to take a short trip to Berlin on our own.  It was nice to have some couple time!  The children were upset we couldn’t take them but I think it’s important for them to realise we need our space too.

I haven’t blogged about many of the places that we went.  I have the best intentions but just get back-logged!  Then, it’s onto our next destination.  I intend to try harder to stay up to date on our blogging adventures in 2015!

Published by

Shobha

I am an American expat based in London with my travel-loving family. I write at Just Go Places Blog about luxury, cultural and family travel.

6 thoughts on “The Travel Year That Was – 2014”

Got something to say?

