marrakech mosque door

Photo Gallery: The Fantastic Doors of Marrakech

Do you ever wonder what is behind a closed door?  The doors in Marrakech that I saw contained so much detailed and colourful work that I could only wonder the extent of the beauty that lay behind the doors.

open moroccan door

I am used to doors that blend into the background serving the their basic function as entrances and exits.   Especially in big cities like London, you don’t want a super nice door attracting the attention of potential robbers to your house.  Doors in Morocco, on the other hand, are much more flamboyant.

marrakech brass door

Moroccan doors are made of a variety of materials (wood, brass, plaster etc.) and colours.  Intricately carved or rustic and basic, the doors are an attraction in themselves.

marrakech studded door

This hand of Fatima (hamsa) door knocker is a protection against the evil eye for the inhabitants of the house.  Fatima was the daughter of the Prophet Mohammed and a powerful woman in a male-dominated society.  The hamsa is also a part of Berber culture.

hand of fatima door knocker

I think this door looks like it has a highly stylised hamsa door knocker.

marrakech door

The variety and colours of Moroccan doors are a joy to photograph.  As you can see I took that joy to heart!

marrakech mosque door

marrakech door

marrakech door

There is even a flea market for buying old Moroccan doors – the Bab El Khemis, if you are so inclined.  I didn’t buy any doors, tempting as they were.  My children would have thrown a complete tantrum if they thought I was taking them antiques shopping when they knew they could be in the glorious hotel pool on a sunny day.

Published by

Shobha

I am an American expat based in London with my travel-loving family. I write at Just Go Places Blog about luxury, cultural and family travel.

6 thoughts on “Photo Gallery: The Fantastic Doors of Marrakech”

  1. Marrakech must be so wonderful! I have it on my list. It is a place I want to do with someone special. Not by myself. But then I will book asap. Maybe great for a girls trip?

    Yvonne

    1. I had my 30th birthday in Marrakech as a girls trip! It was a lot of fun. As a group of girl, you definitely attract a lot of attention from the local men. We almost married our friend off to someone for 4 camels. He wouldn’t negotiate up from 3 camels though 😉 I ended up buying a pretty ceramic pot from him because he was so much fun (which I still have).

Got something to say?

