Glacial river in Iceland

I’ve Got A Liebster To Love

Thanks to Beyond Voyage for nominating Just Go Places for a Liebster award.  I had a moment of deja vu all over again when I got the news of the award but then I realised my previous Liebsters were for my home and family blog, NYLon Living.

Some Basics on the Liebster:

So, what’s a Liebster?  It’s a reader-nominated award from someone who likes reading your blog.  I’m proud of this award because no networking skills were needed, no esteemed colleagues were lobbied and definitely no cash deposits was transferred via American banks to Qatar.

What do you do to accept the award?  Answer the 11 questions posed to you (in my case by Beyond Voyage), nominate a couple of other blogs and pose my 11 questions to them.

My Liebster Questions

The questions are supposed to help you get to know me better.  You can thank Beyond Voyage for forcing me to open up about myself.

1. Where are you going next?

We are doing a road trip through Iceland in July.  We are taking advantage of a free 7 day stopover if you go from London to Boston on Icelandair.  I’m spending the summer in the USA with the kids so we were heading that way anyway.

Glacial river in Iceland
2. What destination or experience are you scared to try?

I am never bungee-jumping.  I can’t imagine why anyone would ever want to.  I feel no need to dangle from a glorified elastic band from a bridge.  I should also mention that I am not very good at heights.

bunging jumping
Image credit: Graeme Churchard

3. If you were to open a bar on a beach anywhere in the the world, where would it be, what would you name the bar and what album would you play every evening at sunset?

I’m going with the cliche Escape by Rupert Holmes (also called the Pina Colada song).  I’m not sure it rises to the level of an album.  I’d pick a beach in Spain because the weather is great, the people are beautiful and the wine/food superb.  Of course, it would be called Escape.

tenerife beach
4. What is your favorite travel photo that you’ve taken and why?

I love this photo of my husband and kids recreating the Rocky jump on the steps at the Philadelphia Art Museum.  I was running behind them humming the Rocky song so that they all got into the spirit. Believe it or not, my kids had never heard of the Rocky movies but we soon fixed that!

Also, where my family are standing will be changed forever because there is a cool new contemporary entrance designed by starchitect Frank Gehry in the works.  So this photo will be a bit of history as well.

Philadelhia Art Museum
5. What is the most unique hotel / accommodation you’ve ever stayed in?

We absolutely loved Tsala Treetop  Lodge on the Garden Route in South Africa.  It was a two bedroom villa built as a treehouse among the trees of an indigenous forest.  Complete with a roaring fire, terrace, outdoor shower and outdoor pool, it was complete luxury.

Tsala treetop lodge
6. What is the worst travel experience you’ve ever had?

I had food poisoning after eating at 2 star Michelin restaurant which shall not be named.  It all went wrong in the middle of the night and I spent the night on the bathroom floor of a very nice luxury hotel during a romantic weekend away with my husband.

chocolate and strawberries
7. What was your favorite music discovery while traveling?

We discovered on a road trip in Spain that they don’t censor the English music on the radio.  The kids were giggling in delight at all the swear roads they heard on the radio.  My husband and I tried to not make a big deal out of it.  We failed.  On the plus side, the kids were very quiet listening to the words of the songs.  I was on tenterhooks afraid of what word was going to come out next.

listening to music
Taken at the Haus der Musik in Vienna

8. In your experience, where are the world’s friendliest people?

I’m going to say Americans but maybe not New Yorkers.  Every time I am in the USA, I am pleasantly surprised by the level of service I receive and the chattiness of everyday people.  It never seems forced.

American flag tennis balls
9. What is the most memorable meal you’ve had while traveling?

London has so many great restaurants.  We had an amazing meal at Oblix at The Shard.  And, you couldn’t beat the view over London that you got especially as the sun started setting.

The view from Obelix, a restaurant at The Shard in London
10. Who is the most interesting person you’ve met while traveling?

One of our guides in South Africa was a man who had been personally affected by the apartheid regime.  His father was Indian and his mother was Malay.  When apartheid came in, his parents were split into two different townships. Their children stayed with the mother and the father would come once a month to visit.  When we were told this story, we had a really good discussion on race with our children because we are a mixed-race family.

south africa
11. What is the one clothing item you always pack when traveling?

A scarf.  It’s so multi-functional – an accessory, a cover-up, a wrap etc.

***

My Liebster Nominations

My turn to nominate some great blogs that I think are really well-written.  I’m giving a shout out to The Two Riveras because they always know where to eat well; Kathleen at Gluten Free Family Travel who I admire for taking her young sons on the road even though it wasn’t an easy option; and Rachel at Rachel’s Ruminations because I would be her if only I was born Jewish in Connecticut and married to a Dutchman.

Here are my 11 questions for you lovely ladies:

  1. Where is your next big trip?
  2. Why did you choose this destination (from question number 1)?
  3. You are all living in different countries.  What’s the best thing about the town that you live in?
  4. What do you find the best thing about travel?
  5. What has been your favourite destination so far and why?
  6. What has been the craziest thing you have ever done while travelling?
  7. What has been your favourite restaurant?
  8. Have you been anywhere that really surprised you (for better or for worse)?
  9. What inspired you to start a blog?
  10. Is there anywhere that you would never want to visit?
  11. What destination is on the top of your bucket list?

I look forward to hearing your answers!

 

 

Published by

Shobha

I am an American expat based in London with my travel-loving family. I write at Just Go Places Blog about luxury, cultural and family travel.

6 thoughts on “I’ve Got A Liebster To Love”

  1. I have only heard great things about Iceland. Sounds like a terrific spot for a family trip. I also love your pic of your family re-doing the Rocky moment. At least your food poisoning was experienced in a higher end motel. So far, I have been lucky in that regard. I guess that goes to show it can happen anywhere, even in a 2 star Michelin restaurant! Have a great trip to Iceland and enjoy your summer in the States.

  2. I really enjoyed reading your answers and I love the Rocky picture!!! Have fun in Iceland! We did a stopover there 2 years ago on our way to Boston – but only for a couple of days. We loved driving around the Golden Circle (waterfalls! geysers! horses!), swimming in the Blue Lagoon, and sampling some of the local dishes (whale tastes like tuna). Can’t wait to read about your trip!

  3. I love your responses! For the record, French radio doesn’t censor either. Magazine covers can also get a little racy. It’s been interesting! Thank you so much for the nomination. I’m working on my responses and my post should be up by the end of the week!

    1. Ok so that’s France, Spain and Germany who don’t censor. You’re probably using a car radio with caution anywhere in continental Europe then. Good to know – probably safest on a “oldies” station.

Got something to say?

