finger family on holiday

Introducing the Just Go Places Podcast

<Drum Roll>  Introducing the Just Go Places podcast where I talk about cool places to go with your family and speak to various people about family travel.

finger family on holiday

The Inspiration

I’ve now become an avid listener of podcasts ever since attending a talk on podcasts at TBEX on the Costa Brava a couple of months ago.  The talk was given by Nathaniel Boyle of The Daily Travel Podcast.  He was a really inspirational speaker full of enthusiasm for this format.  Nathaniel has a fabulous show I listen to every evening but, honestly, I don’t know how he podcasts every day.  It’s a lot more work than editing a post, but it could be that I am more of a natural writer.

So, like everything else, I jumped in headfirst.  I have prepared a series of podcasts that I will roll out over the coming weeks.  It took me a while to figure out how to record and edit so doing a few in a batch has helped me hone my skills.

The Just Go Places Podcast - family travel podcast

The Plan

I’m hoping to provide you with a podcast every week. I plan on publishing some solo episodes which would be me discussing some places that we visit and talking to some of the people at those places about what you can expect.

I’ll also have a free form discussion with different families on their trips just like you would if you were catching up with a friend.  It’s not limited to the crazy world of travel bloggers!

And… a radical new concept for family travel… ditching the kids on occasion!

My husband and I try to take one trip a year without the kids even if its just a long weekend and we really treasure that time we have together where we are just two adults again free of parenting responsibilities. I have also gone away with just my friends just for a fun girly weekend.  Friendships are to be treasured – it’s good for parents to remember they have a life outside of the kids! So yeah, the family travel on this podcast can mean no kids allowed too.

So, this podcast format is very much a work in progress.  Please feel free to leave comments so that I can tailor the podcasts to what you want to hear.

I’ll keep the podcasts short (about half an hour) which is about all the attention span I generally have for podcasts.  Also, I’m learning all about podcasting, sound quality etc. (so bear with me!) and it’s a steep learning curve.

I need to upload this podcast onto iTunes which I am doing.  It will take about a week for iTunes to put it on their platform (believe it or not, they actually check the content of stuff that’s uploaded!).  You can listen to it on my blog in the interim.

This first episode is an introduction to me and to the podcast.  Shorter than the upcoming shows at only 12 minutes, I actually found it hard to talk for that long.  So hence, I will be making liberal use of guests on the show!

Published by

Shobha

I am an American expat based in London with my travel-loving family. I write at Just Go Places Blog about luxury, cultural and family travel.

9 thoughts on “Introducing the Just Go Places Podcast”

  1. Congrats on your first podcast! Excellent and informative. I think it will work really well. It is so strange to hear the person’s voice that goes with the blog. And yes, you are so well based for travel. I am so jealous of those who live in Europe and can see so much of Europe without the costly flights and also get into Africa so easily.

    1. Lol. My voice sounds squeaky on there. My husband was like – who is that? I’m going to practice doing a deeper voice. BTW want to be a guest? When do you go to Egypt? Maybe I should let you settle in first 🙂

      1. I will be a guest once I get settled in a bit, for sure. I am so NOT tech savvy so I am very new to podcasts. We move in the middle of August. You are a brave woman! Way to go for trying something new.

      2. It’s not easy learning from zero. I’m sure my sound production is not great. It’s only Skype so that’ll be easy part. August is coming up fast …

      3. Yes, it is. I tackled some more packing today and made a million more lists as well. List upon list… sticky note upon sticky note…The sound was really good as well as the clarity of your voice. Easy to understand.

Got something to say?

