Gails Artisan Bakery

London Living: Gail’s Artisan Bakery

This month’s London Living theme is about best brunch places.  I remember brunch fondly. I too used to laze in a restaurant with friends on a Sunday Morning over coffee and pancakes.  But that was PK (pre-kids).  Now, those days are a distant memory.

We have not given up on our Sunday morning breakfast treats though. It’s just slightly shorter and involves no lazing.  Our favourite place for Sunday treats are Gail’s Artisan Bakeries.  We usually grab delicious baked goods, great coffee and head to a park.  Sadly, I’m pretty sure my children go to church on Sunday without a fuss because they know that there are Gail’s treats waiting for them afterwards.  I’m sure God understands.

Gails Artisan Bakery
Image credit: Chris Goldberg

Gail’s started off as a Hampstead bakery but seem to have expanded a lot recently.  I remember being excited when they showed up in Belsize Park.  I would  no longer have to walk 10 minutes to the Hampstead bakery!  Some of the newer bakeries have more seating.  The original Hampstead one has had a recent refurbish but the seating space is still tight.  It’s also across the pedestrianised street from another one of my favourite stores, Italian chocolates at Venchi.

Gails Artisan Bakery in London started in Hampstead

As per the usual bakery, Gail’s does breads and baked goods. They also do great salads, sandwiches and soups.

Gail's Artisan Bakery
Image: Brett Jordan

You can read more about the best Sunday brunches in London at The Lifestyle Diaries.

Gail's brunch
Image credit: Spektograf

Published by

Shobha

I am an American expat based in London with my travel-loving family. I write at Just Go Places Blog about luxury, cultural and family travel.

4 thoughts on “London Living: Gail’s Artisan Bakery”

  1. Reading about Gail’s Artisan Bakery was absolutely the wrong thing for me to do right now. I’m sitting in a hotel in Suwon, South Korea, at breakfast time and it’s absolutely pouring down rain, complete with thunder and lightning. So here I sit, with a cup of Korean tea I had to beg from reception, reading about this fantastic food!

    1. Sorry to hear about that. I’ll have to take you to Gail’s when you visit London. It really is fab. My husband was joking that they’d have a loss in revenue when we moved further away from them. Having them right down the street was fairly deadly for my good eating habits.

Got something to say?

