Gone wild for blueberries

I realise I out up the post “it was just what we did” with no actual post. Oops. Epic Fail on the multitasking on holiday.  

So what did we do? My kids and their friends picked wild blueberries from the bushes around our summer house and made a blueberry pie from scratch with them. Technically lots of them were huckleberries (smaller than blueberries) but why be persnickety?  It was delicious. 

It was good wholesome fun. I felt very Martha Stewart meets The Brady Bunch.  

There are wild berries and beach plums everywhere on Martha’s Vineyard.  You’d think it would be grapes but no.  Beach plums are an acquired taste and make better preserves than pies. 

  
 

Published by

Shobha

I am an American expat based in London with my travel-loving family. I write at Just Go Places Blog about luxury, cultural and family travel.

One thought on “Gone wild for blueberries”

Got something to say?

