Thrill Ride & Giant Sandbox: Desert Safari In Dubai

One of the best side trips we did in Dubai was the desert safari.  Organised by the hotel, we were picked up and taken out of the city to a location where we met the other members of the tour.

We were bundled into Toyota 4×4’s for some serious dune bashing. The children throughly enjoyed the roller coaster ride.  I just prayed that the driver would get us to our destination in one piece and without overturning.  Just in case, you think I’m over-reacting, you can see YouTube clips of dune bashing accidents (which I convinced myself were not trained drivers of high-end tours).

driving in the desert

After a stomach-churning 30 minutes, we eventually got to the campsite in the desert.  There were camel rides on offer.

camel ride

My children though really liked playing in the sand. I know some of these safaris offer sand surfing if you want organised fun.  My children, however, had a blast running up and down the dunes, making sand angels and playing in what amounted to them as a giant sandbox.

The sunset in the desert was stunning.  All oranges and golds reflected back on the yellow sand.

sunset on the sand

We all enjoyed the dinner offered at the campsite, a traditional meal of grilled meats, which even my fussy-eater liked.  I think there was shisha on offer but nobody in my family tried it.  The evenings entertainment concluded with a belly dancer.  She was definitely energetic! And could shake it, shake it, like she’s supposed to do.

belly dancer

We really appreciated getting away from the urban environment of Dubai.  The desert just stretches endlessly in front of you even though we were not very far from the city.  I can’t even imagine living in such an inhospitable environment like the Bedouins traditionally did.

Have you ever been to a desert environment?  What did you think?

Published by

Shobha

I am an American expat based in London with my travel-loving family. I write at Just Go Places Blog about luxury, cultural and family travel.

2 thoughts on “Thrill Ride & Giant Sandbox: Desert Safari In Dubai”

  1. Impressive and very touchy post with facts of Dubai. I have been staying here from last two years and what i name this city really a city of wonders.

Got something to say?